Thursday, April 17, 2008
Are we ready for a smart president?
Okay, I was open to Hillary at one point. Before Barack was a contendor, I thought it would be pretty cool to have a woman president. I liked Bill when he was in office. But it didn't take long for Hillary to distinguish herself as, well, utterly indistinguishable. She is a perfectly stereotypical politician.
Ironically, the Bush II years have raised my standards in Presidential candidates. Before Bush, a President like Bill Clinton was okay. At least he was intelligent. But now the stakes are much higher because we've sunk so low. I don't want someone who is better than Bush. I don't want someone in the same ballpark as Bush.
But now, Hillary has made the decision to play the anti-intellectual card by calling Obama (the community organizer) elitist. This from an Ivy-league educated millionaire lawyer and known policy wonk. Fear of smart people is what allowed Bush to fumble his way to the top. More than anything else Hillary is doing to destroy Obama, this one is too much. She's destroying herself in the process. It's a supreme act of self-loathing and it is actually pretty fascinating to watch. Sad, though. It says quite a bit about the level of discourse in this country and how hard we are willing to work intellectually (not that hard, as it turns out). Her only shot at winning is to be mean and act dumb. And that's why it's so important for Obama to win.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment